Share it:

New Executive Team (Coiste Gnó) take Office

Former NUI Galway Students’ Union President and current USI Vice President for Welfare, Clare Austick has today (April 8) been elected President of the Union of Students in Ireland for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Clare will be joined on the next USI Executive Team by nine new faces, as the President-elect was the only sitting member of the team for run for election.

Due to the on-going public health restrictions, USI Congress was held via Zoom with delegates voting online for the 2021-2022 Executive Team and numerous policies and motions. Congress was also streamed live on Facebook so students could watch the action as it happened.

Speaking after her election, Clare explained that there is a lot of work ahead for the union as it seeks to get students back on campus is a safe manner in the new academic year and deals with the fall-out of COVID-19 for students across the island.

She said: “I am absolutely delighted and honoured to have been elected President of USI for the next academic year. I am very much looking forward to working with the new team and student representatives across the island of Ireland in what will be another very challenging time for students. There is a lot to do and as we look forward to coming out of COVID, we will need to ensure that we focus on student well-being and how the pandemic has impacted students. There is a lot to consider whether it’s mental health concerns or impact on their academic achievements and much more.

“Apart from myself and NUS-USI President, Ellen Fearon, there will be a whole new team and that will give us a good opportunity to reflect on where we are and to make new, exciting plans for the future. This is still a time of huge challenge for students, and for Irish society in general, and we will be there fighting to ensure the best outcome possible is achieved for students over the year to come.”

The full USI Executive team for 2021-2022, as elected today, will be:



Clare Austick (USI Welfare Vice President, formerly NUI Galway SU)


Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Megan O’Connor (Trinity College Dublin SU)


Vice-President for Welfare

Somhairle Brennan (IADT SU)


Vice-President for Campaigns

Beth O’Reilly (UCC SU)


Vice-President for Equality & Citizenship

Bukky Adebowale (Maynooth SU)


Leas-Uachtarán don Ghaeilge (Vice President for the Irish Language)

Muireann Nic Corcráin (Trinity College Dublin SU)


Vice-President for Postgraduate Affairs

Jenna Barry (Limerick IT SU)


Vice-President for the Border, Midlands & Western Region

Victor O’Loughlin (Galway Mayo IT SU)


Vice-President for the Southern Region

John Fortune (Waterford IT SU)


Vice-President for the Dublin Region

Caoimhe O’Carroll (Dublin City University SU)


We make sure you
don't miss any news
Skip to content