Share it:

New Presidency and Executive Committee elected at ESU Board Meeting 79 

On the 28th of October 2020, in the scope of the 79th Board Meeting of the European Students’ Union, the European Students Parliament consisting of 46 National Unions from 40 countries has elected its new team of representatives. The mandate of the newly elected Presidency and Executive Committee will last for 6 months, from the 1st January 2021 to the 30th June 2021.

Martina Darmanin (Malta) was elected as the new President of the European Students’ Union and will be serving alongside the two Vice Presidents, Zamzam Ibrahim (UK) and Jakub Grodecki (Poland)

The presidency will be supported by seven additional members in the Executive Committee, consisting of Kristel Jakobson (Estonia), Martin Hammerbauer (Czech Republic), Matteo Vespa (Italy), Otto Rosenlund (Finland), Pegi Pavletic (Croatia), Ronja Hesse (Germany) and Ruben Janssens (Belgium). 

In addition, following the end of Robert Napier’s mandate,  former ESU’s President (1 July 2019 – 15 October 2020),  Gohar Hovhannisyan (Armenia) was elected as new ESU’s President for the rest of the ongoing mandate till the 31st of December.  

The 79th Board Meeting of the European Students’ Union,  for the first time in the history of the organisation, is taking place online due to the current force majeure triggered through the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

We wish all elected representatives the best for the challenging times ahead. Safeguarding students rights and interests is vital in times of crisis and at the heart of the European Students’ Unions efforts.

Download the PDF version of this press release on this link.


We make sure you
don't miss any news
Skip to content