Share it:

The new Presidency, Committee Executive Members and Coordinators ready for 2018/2019 mandate

BRUSSELS – The new Presidency of ESU starts their mandate on 1 July for the period 2018/2019. Adam Gajek (Poland) is ESU’s new president and Katrina Koppel (Estonia) and Robert Napier (Malta) are the Vice Presidents. They were elected by student representatives from 46 national unions from 39 different countries at the 74th Board Meeting (BM74) of ESU in Slovenia.

Along with Presidency, the new members of the Executive Committee and Coordinators for Human Rights and Solidarity, Membership and Equality will work together to represent and fight for the interests and rights of almost 20 million students all over Europe.

The Executive Committee is formed by 7 student representatives elected at the BM74. Among them, Gohar Hovhannisyan (Armenia) and João Pedro Estêvão Martins (Portugal) were also members of the EC in 2017/2018 and Monika Skadborg (Denmark), Sebastian Berger (Austria), Daniel Altman (Israel), Urša Leban (Slovenia), Yulia Dobyshuk (Belarus) are joining the team for the first time.

Regarding the Coordinators, Rob Henthorn will be in charge of Membership related issues for the second consecutive year and Hélène Mariaud and Marie Desrousseaux will coordinate Equality and Human Rights dimensions, respectively.

All the elected representatives will hold a 1-year mandate until new elections take place next year.


About the new Presidency

Adam Gajek was a member of the European Students’ Union Executive Committee 2016/2017 and ESU’s Vice President for 2017/2018 period. His main focus lies in the area of quality of higher education, with an emphasis given to quality assurance and prior learning recognition. He is a member of the ESU Quality Assurance Student Experts’ Pool and a student expert of the Polish Accreditation Committee. He has been engaged in the student movement for many years, formerly served as an International Officer of the Students’ Parliament of the Republic of Poland (PSRP), and ahead of the Audit Committee of the Students’ Union of the University of Warsaw.

Katrina is a student and civil society activist from Estonia, as well as an “education quality assurance nerd”. She has been in the student movement for over 6 years. When not fighting for students’ rights, she can be found writing about populism, playing designer for various causes or listening to podcasts.

Robert Napier holds a Bachelor of Law and a Masters of Advocacy from the University of Malta. He served as President (2017-2018), Secretary (2016-2017) and Social Policy Commissioner (2015-2016) of the University Students’ Council in Malta.

More details about the Committee Executive members and Coordinators will be facilitated in our section elected representatives.


We make sure you
don't miss any news
Skip to content